Play It Back

The bullet rewound back in the chamber and I set my gun down on the dresser. I counted the bullets backward and placed them on the dresser along with the gun. I then stood up and moonwalked out the door. The hours went from 11 P.M. to 10 to 9 to 8 P.M., where I sat with my friends at the restaurant. I steadily rebuilt my food from my stomach to my plate as we talked gossip.

“,fine I’m” I said softly.

“? okay you are ,Samantha” asked they, noticing my quietness.

“!cute so he’s, Ooh”

“!mercy have Lord, Like ?right, know I”

We got up and strode back first into separate paths while the Sun rose West and rested again in the sky, leaving night behind.

I stood in school, sighing and taking my books out my locker while a couple of girls walked back, laughing at me. My tears ascended into my eyes and I walked backwards from school. I stopped on the steps where a girl called me “bitch” as she came down.

I held my head up high while I returned to the bus with the rest of the students and rode it back home. I stepped off, back-first, and returned to my house, spat out my breakfast and orange juice, went upstairs and back to my room where I threw my pajamas back on and slept in bed with a phone in hand and a slew of messages that began at the end – “Kill yourself, whore.”

Leave a Reply

