I can’t… I simply can’t. They’re out there. They’re all out there; waiting for me, chanting my name.

My name is Andre Jackson, and I’m 23 years old. I was born in Louisville, Kentucky, the same city and state… where he was born in. The Legend, the Greatest. Everyone in that town is rooting for me, waiting for me, hoping for me to win. Am I strong enough to live up to his legacy?

I was born the biggest fan of him – his style, his flow, his poetics, his grace, his everything. No one knew him like that. He and his lost friend were my two greatest heroes. I studied them greater than I’ve studied any other figure or book in school. They’re why I stand up for my peoples and their problems.

But am I good enough? These days, we don’t have enough people willing to stand up for the problems in the communities today, to stand for their deaths and to mourn their teenage children that are unrightfully gunned down. These punches I’ll throw won’t simply be for the heavyweight championship of the world. As I sit in this dark room, I have to remember… the legacy.

The legacy of all those who fought before me, who stood in heat for my freedom, and who turn in their graves as our innocent young men and women are killed by our own snakes that shed skin to look like us everyday. Can’t leave them, can’t run away, can’t lose. For them, for him.

Can I do this? It’s not about winning or losing, it’s about heart, about preserving a memory and establishing a legacy. Yes… to inspire the next generation by using the past generation. To be a link that keeps the dead alive and the young ones fighting for true freedom.

It doesn’t matter what happens in the end. I can’t not do it; I have to. I have to go out there, face the people, face the man on the other side of the ring, face the challenge, the mountain itself. And respect them. I have to do it, punch, and win. I have to. For me, for everyone, for them… for him.

Rest in peace. Ah! I will do it! I can do it! Ah! Here we go! Huawh!


Original Image

A Mind Like No Other

Leave a Reply

