Dear Mama,

It’s Joey. Sorry I haven’t been responding to your letters as much. There’s been a whole lot going on, but I really wanna tell you about it.

Firstly, I met a girl! Her name is Sharon, and she’s really, really cool, Mama. She reminds me a lot of Dad when he was still alive. Yep; she’s loud, obnoxious, makes loads of inappropriate jokes, and she’s extremely kind. She really makes me feel happy, and I hope you guys can get along.

Oh, I got a new job, too! Yeah, I’m an editor for the New York Times. I just got it yesterday, ain’t it amazing? Sharon was so happy and I know you’ll be, too.

You know, Mom, I was sitting in bed and thinking earlier today about how we used to go onto carousel together? That was pretty cool, you know? I missed talking to you, Mom, and I’m sorry I haven’t been calling. I just wanted to let you know I was okay. I also want you to know that you’re appreciated. That I appreciate how sacrificed your time with your dreams and college, how you constantly struggled to keep food on the table, how you made sure I wasn’t out there doing drugs or hanging with the wrong crowd. I really appreciate you sitting by my bed at night and asking me about my days at school. I appreciate you keeping God on my mind, even though you’re my Goddess.

I don’t really know what brought this on, but I miss our regular talks. We should meet up this weekend. Don’t know why I’m sending this in a letter (as opposed to calling), but I just feel like it’s more personal. Odd, I know. Anyway, I love you, Mama. Thanks, again. Thank you for everything, Mama.

Your boy,

Andrew


Original Image

Leave a Reply

