The pain keeps me buried beneath dirt

And sore scabs build up, up from hurt

And pain from the darkness resting

Beneath the surface, testing

My limits and will

Without end.


Yet I dreamed of a day where I’d sprout.


Drive past pain, drag my hands

Upwards, away from the jeers

That root me under

The surface.

I yearn the light, breathe the light, wish the light

But receive only wet darkness.

Again and again, I am rejected

By the world above.


Yet, I dreamed of a day where I’d sprout.


Resist, desist, and do hiss

At all who hinder and hurt,

Wishing to keep me in the hot dirt.

I climb with the hearts of love touched by lovers

And the guidance of the light

To climb and blossom.


Yet, I dreamed of a day where I’d sprout.


Original Image

Leave a Reply

