The sound and fury’s winds, repeats, and balks,

Waxing walls around itself to

Prevent the entry – fresh and faithly might.

Cold and frosty winds do slow walks

Across the moat to seize his mind; accrue

Worry while the doors go lightly.

Inside again at last, on walls, with talks –

Lowly whispers, frigid, cold – cue

The snowy goblins, icy dragons white.

Ventures in here: monsters gawking

At entry – King returned – of his. He threw

Snarling saws to kill the nighted.

Tomorrow, days will die and he, like stalks,

Fated falls, yet on he truly

Did know his death would come uncold in sight.

Feet still moved on forthly squawking

A death upon his name, unsweet and new.

Crowned he used to be – unknightly.

An honor – battle ‘gainst himself to mock

Death so easy, buzzed to curfew

And ring it did ‘til morn saw end the fight.


Analysis:

Now, I can’t remember what rhyme scheme I’m getting this from, but the metric scheme – switching from iambic pentameter to trochaic tetrameter –  I made is my idea for sure (though I definitely varied it,  as can be seen). I don’t know why, but I felt like the “in and out”-like motion of the meter created the loopy feeling of a dream, which is basically what this poem is.

The King is, obviously, the man himself and the castle is his mind.

The monster aka “the nighted” are the demons he has in his mind.

He’s fighting through cold because he’s dying – he’s nearing the end. To that end, the man is fighting through it all til morn, refusing to give up and behaving honorably whilst mocking death as well.

As far as literary techniques, we have allusion, onomatopoeia, some imagery, and a double entendre thrown in there.

Allusion: Obviously, as can be seen from the title, this is an allusion to the famous Robert Frost poem “Out, Out – “ and it can be seen in the following lines:

He threw

Snarling saws to kill the nighted.

However, there is also an allusion to the great Bard himself in the very first line:

The sound and fury’s winds,

As Frost’s poem was based on Macbeth’s lines, “Out, out, brief candle…”

Onomatopoeia: I use this technique in the following lines:

 Snarling saws to kill the nighted.

My reasoning for this was simple: I wanted it to be an aggressive tone, and it worked well as I could, erhm, “borrow” a line from Frost’s poem to have it double as an allusion.

Imagery: Cold and frosty winds do slow walks/ Lowly whispers, frigid, cold – cue; to name a few lines.

Double entendre: I messed around a little with the definition of curfew. I use it to mean an ending, but I learned that it also doubles as a meaning for a signal that signifies curfew, so I carried the meaning forward, using it to mean it as a closing factor and as a ringing for a new beginning.


I hoped you liked the poem and my short analysis of it! If you liked the poem, please download my free poetry book Flames from the Black right here: flames-from-the-black

It is in PDF format, the whole book, right up there. Literally just click on it, read it, and lemme know what you think. Cool, right? Plus, the added bonus of having nothing to lose. Anyway, if you’re not convinced yet, stay tuned to the next few poems I have in store because they’re gonna to be awesome! Until then.

–X

Leave a Reply

